Outstanding Teaching Awards

College of Arts & Sciences Outstanding Teaching Awards

Each year the College of Arts & Sciences gives four Outstanding Teaching Awards, one each in the divisions of Humanities, Social Sciences, Natural & Mathematical Sciences and one for lecturers.  These Awards recognize excellence and outstanding contribution both in undergraduate and graduate teaching and in all aspects of teaching, not just class performance.  All tenured, tenure-track,and lecturer faculty with full-time or primary appointments in the College are eligible for these Awards, except for those  who have won this Award during the previous five years.  Each A&S Outstanding Teaching Award carries a one-time stipend of $1,500.

Nominations are invited each spring from the faculty in the College and all University of Kentucky students.  Nomination packets include:

  1. A letter of nomination.
  2. A cover letter from the Chair (if the Chair is not nominating).
  3. No more than two additional letters of support from faculty and/or students.,
  4. A packet of supporting materials, including a personal statement on teaching, sample course syllabi, and a sample of representative student evaluative comments.  The contents of the packet must not exceed a total of thirty pages in length.
  5. Copies of numerical course evaluations of the nominees’ teaching for the previous three semesters. (The nominee may submit alternative evaluation forms for courses taught during these semesters for which the standard numerical evaluation form was not used). 

Please send nomination packets to A&S Dean's Office, c/o Abbie Loynachan, 202 POT 0027. A committee appointed by the Dean will select the recipients of the Award.

Past Recipients of A&S Outstanding Teaching Awards

More information about the Certificate and the Winners can be found here.


Alberto Corso, Mathematics
Lisa Blue, Chemistry
Mark Lauersdorf, Linguistics
Lynn Phillips, Geography


James Krupa, Biology
Erik Myrup, History
Sung Hee Kim, Psychology
Jennifer Osterhage, Biology

2013-2014:    Shannon Bell, Sociology
Jacqueline Couti, Modern & Classical Languages, Literatures & Cultures
Stephen Testa, Chemistry
Kim Woodrum, Chemistry


Christia Brown, Psychology
Brenna Byrd, Modern & Classical Langusges, Literatures & Cultures
Yanira Paz, Hispanic Studies
Bradley Plaster, Physics & Astronomy
2011-2012:  Ben Braun, Mathematics
Nathan DeWall, Psychology
Paul Koester, Mathematics
Linda Worley, Modern & Classical Languages, Literatures & Cultures 
2010-2011: Chana Akins, Psychology
Juliana McDonald, Anthropology
Peter Mirabito, Biology
Leon Sachs, MCL-French
2009-2010: Irene Chico-Wyatt, Hispanic Studies
Joe Straley, Physics & Astronomy
Gregory Stump, English/Linguistics
Alice Turkington, Geography

William Griffith, Statistics
Richard Jeffries, Anthropology
Jeff Rogers, MCL-German


James Krupa, Biology
David Olster, History
Stephen Voss, Political Science


Jonathan Golding, Psychology
Ganpathy Murthy, Physics and Astronomy
Brandon Look, Philosophy


Denise Fulbrook, English
Tim Gorringe, Physics and Astronomy
Sung Hee Kim, Psychology


Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected